Buying an EAB that is still in Phase 1 - advice on getting it through Phase 1?

MarkH

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MarkH
I am currently shopping for a plane and I have found one that (I think) checks most of my boxes. The problem is, it is currently in Phase 1 flight testing (about 10 hours on the airframe).
If this plane had 100 or more hours on it, I would be rushing to buy it.

My concerns come down to, I am a low time pilot, with low tailwheel time (its a TW), no time in type (its a Tailwind), and little experience in airplane maintenance.

I have ordered EAA's Flight Test Manual, and I am looking around Las Vegas to find someone with the skills, experience and willingness to handle some early test flights, especially the one that will happen before I hand over the money. (I am not comfortable flying someone else's airplane in that situation). The good news is, its past the 8 hour mark which according to AC 90-116 is where statistically most of the Phase 1 crashes happen. The bad news is, because its not a kit, it does not qualify for 2 pilot flight testing.

I look at this and my mind goes in 2 directions - One, I'm not qualified for this. Two, I am planning on building a plane one day, so I must know I can learn it (and I might as well now).

Any thoughts or advice on taking on this project?

Insurance will probably want some number of hours with an instructor - so needs to be past phase 1 for that. Your first flight in it would be solo unless you pay someone to fly the remaining 30 hours (not a bad idea IMHO).

Tailwind is pretty conventional rag and tube - the FAA A&P manuals cover a lot of that (don't recall the numbers off the top of my head). I assume a conventional Lycoming / Continental? Do you have an A&P lined up at the home drone for at least the condition inspection? You could potentially "grow" into the maintenance.