Buying an airplane that's been sitting

Here
photo.php

How much was it?

I'm not an expert by any means, but I recall that you can get a lot of speed improvement with gear doors, and nose gear mod with a clamshell system. I think they came on post 1972? Can be retrofitted. Contact the experts at the place in Plainview TX.

I flew it down after a lot of work-- mostly time but I spent a little money, overhauled the prop, and it's a runner. She's got pleanty of power, cruised at 145kts at 13gph. Trimmed out really nice, overall I'm satisfied. I might have been able to buy one that was current and flying for what I have in this one, but now I have a low time flyer that appears good. Not to say nothing could happen but as of now, I'm satisfied

Welcome to your very own flying money pit. :D The Vikings are nice flying planes.

I'm glad another airplane has been saved from the scrap yard. Perhaps it was not the cheapest way for the new owner to go, but there is some value in saving older interesting airplanes.

Looks great Jeff! I'm glad it all worked out for you.

My next door hangar neighbor, has a 150 and a super Viking in his hangar. He says the super Viking is his baby. Like yours, his is a beautiful bird. I hope to get a ride some day. I wouldn't mind having one as the second plane in my hangar.

So the way the world works... I brought the airplane home, flew it some & noticed my cht & oil temp guages were intermittant....but everything else was strong... I pursuaded my wife to let me purchase a jpi edm 900 (stc replacement for all engibe guages) and installed it... (Now i was in it $33k). The airplane was running strong & flying great... I love the speed & power compared to my 140.....