Buying A Plane That Hasn't Flown In A Year

WVTexan

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
WVTexan
A guy at my local airport bought a 1978 172n last year. He doesn't have his license and it hasn't flown since last December. It only has 20 hours in the past 10 years and 880 total. It looks okay and nothing obvious stands out. He is now looking for a 50% partner. No special upgrades or avionics and he is valuing the plane at $50k $25k each).

Is this a 'great find' or should I stear clear? I'm a new pilot and this does come with a hanger (currently a 2 year waiting list). He said he would get a fresh annual and I'll get a pre- buy and test flight.

Any help is appreciated!

Where? Dry country? Humid country?

And not just for the last year. Where has it been for the ten years it sat essentially dormant?

That would make a huge difference in my mind. If in Florida probably no way I'd consider it. If Arizona probably little concern...after a thorough pre buy.

Oh

Welcome!

Hello Tim -

It has been in West Virginia and hangered most of its life. He bought it from a guy here at the same airport. Not too humid here, but winters can be a little harsh. I'm just worried that I'll buy in, start flying it and start getting into all kinds of issues that haven't been addressed over the past 10-15 years.

Positive side is that he doesn't have his license and isn't going to start anytime soon. So, I get a person to split fix costs with and he won't be hogging the schedule.....

50K seems steep for a 172N with basic avionics. Search Barnstormers.com and see what you can find to compare with.

Welcome, WVTexan.

I agree with Ron, in that the price seems a little high. The suggestion to research prices is a good one. You may be able to negotiate the buy-in down a little.