Buyer’s Agent/Broker

urquhart

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
urquhart
When hiring a buyer’s agent/consultant when looking for an airplane, what is the fee structure- fixed or a % of purchase price? Do they assist with paperwork, $$ transfer, title search, etc?

Mine was 2k fixed. And he did all paperwork and log book review. I was a student and didn’t know jack (still don’t lol)

what is the fee structure- fixed or a % of purchase price? Do they assist with paperwork, $$ transfer, title search, etc?
Depends. Keep in mind a buyer's agent/consultant works for you the buyer and brokers tend to work both sides. The 3 consultants I did work for had tiered rates for different aircraft types and services. But their basic rate was fixed below $150K in most cases and included locating aircraft, prebuy, lien search, escrow, and delivery. The main thing is to get their rates/services down on paper and that you fully understand the terms. And depending on aircraft you might try inquiring through type clubs for recommendations.

Mine charge by the hour, and provided transition training.

When hiring a buyer’s agent/consultant when looking for an airplane, what is the fee structure- fixed or a % of purchase price? Do they assist with paperwork, $$ transfer, title search, etc?

I charge an hourly rate for most things, like the record review, purchase consulting, etc. When traveling I have a day rate which usually applies if I am going the pre-purchase physical inspection and may or may not apply to transition flight training.

Everyone can come up with their own structure and no two airplane purchases are the same. So really there's no "standard", at least that I've seen.