Busted Bravo

U

Unregistered

I'm a student pilot. While flying solo I accidentally busted Bravo. I was flying around just sightseeing along a lake shore underneath the Bravo shelf and got so engrossed with the view that I flew into an area where the shelf dropped and I busted it by about 1000 feet. I realized what was going on when my TIS traffic alert went off and I saw a large jetliner pass over me and then I realized and looked at the map and knew what I had done. I immediately dived down below the new shelf there and headed back out away from that area. I flew around a little more not really knowing what to do then flew back to my home airport which has a tower. Nobody said anything to me on the radio. So far since then I have heard nothing. This happened about a month ago. How long should I wait before I know nothing will happen?

Don't have the answer to that, but I hope you filed an ASRS.

Yeah, NASA form and call AOPA legal services if you are a member. As a student you may get some leeway...but maybe not since you were solo and PIC.

Even though it has been a month, you should still fill out the NASA form...you can claim that you didn't become aware of the violation until you looked at the map recently. They might buy that, and the clock doesn't start ticking until you are aware or reasonably should have been aware of the violation.

Last edited:
If you weren't greeted when you landed, you aren't going to hear anything. ATC would have tagged you on RADAR, and contacted the tower when they figured out where you were going. You would have had a number to call right then.

And since you are outside the 10 days I would NOT file a ASRS report. It can only hurt you at this point.

Can they find him by his transponder ID, or does he just look like "some dude squawking 1200" to ATC? If the latter is the case, and they didn't grab him immediately, then how could they prove it was him? I don't really know how much data and of what type ATC receives.