business / pleasure aircraft

RRman

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
RRman
My business is taking me throughout the northwest(Oregon, Idaho, Washington, Montana) with a few trips to Southern Ca. and Arizona. I will normally be flying with 1 other person and 150 lbs of samples. I am a new pilot and would like to use the plane to complete my IFR training. My budget is in the $80,000 range. I am looking at a 182 but am wondering if I would be better served with a Mooney 201. I know the retract will be more for insurance but the faster time is appealing. Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks

Either will work in your scenario. Probably should try before you buy... find both on rental and see which one fits you best. Some people don't fit well in Mooneys. Others find them tight but comfortable. Some people don't like how slow the Cessna flies. You can do some time/speed/distance calculations to see if it makes a significant difference in your schedule.

Before it gets to 40 posts, I will just say it now: buy a King Air, because at some point, one idiot on here will chime in with that as the only possible answer. :rolleyes:

Look at the following aircraft:

182RG
Comanche
Bonanza

Sit in a Mooney for 3 hours, and see how it feels. They fit some people well, others they don't. I fall into the latter category. I can't even sit in one for 30 minutes. But for what you are doing, you are going to want a turbo for that area. So look for a turbo model of the above.

The 182 will haul WAY more than the Mooney. Two adults and 150lbs of samples, plus luggage... you're going to lose a lot of range and have to be really on top of the W&B.

There are a lot of other craft that would do the job nicely. The Arrow I fly has 1,100lbs of useful load and cruises around 140kts at 11 GPH. It's also ridiculously stable airplane -- great for IFR training. Also much more docile in a cross wind.

Keep the options open!

probably out of the budget for 80,000! but maybe not...