Want To Buy Broken Garmin 430

Discussion in 'The Classifieds' started by ClipperSky, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky
    Hi Guys,

    I am looking for a broken GNS 430 for part. Does not have to work or be nice looking. It does need a serial and part number.

    What do you guys have?

    Bob
     
  2. alfadog

    alfadog En-Route

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,179
    Location:
    Miami
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    alfadog
    No, but I do have the VIN plates and matching title for an Alfa Romeo GTV/6 if that is of any use to you.
     
    pigpenracing likes this.
  3. pigpenracing

    pigpenracing Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,998
    Location:
    Brenham Tx
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    pigpen
    The serial number and data plate will cost you about $5,000 :)
     
  4. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky

    Less! Can get one for $2000! Then I can take my current POS and install it in my new Alfa Romeo!
     
  5. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky
    Still looking BTW!
     
  6. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky
    Anyone????
     
  7. Alex G.

    Alex G. Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    AlexTB20
    Do you intend to upgrade it to WAAS?
     
  8. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky
    That is the plan!
     
  9. Clip4

    Clip4 En-Route

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3,454
    Location:
    A Rubber Room
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cli4ord
    Why would you need a 430 serial number and part number? Sounds like a midnight parts situation.
     
  10. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky
    I bought Cessna 310 for parts that had the 430 installed in the panel. When the plane got shipped to me I pulled out the 430 notice no serial number. I called Garman and they said it would be a nice paper weight. I would like to find a broken unit that needs parts so I can have a nice functioning unit with the serial number.
     
  11. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,736
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    Why would a 430 not have a serial number? seriously just curious, as I've never pulled one and looked for or at the serial number. But, by no serial number, does that mean sticker peeled, scraped, wore off/filed off or just plain lost? Or something more nefarious like stolen? Or like I read a while back, some dirtbag steals one from a plane and swaps it into another plane and steals the one he just swapped, so the serial number reported as stolen is really not, and the one in the dirtbag's hand has a clean serial number?
     
  12. SkyDog58

    SkyDog58 Ejection Handle Pulled PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12,146
    Location:
    My own special place.
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Old dog w/o new tricks
    Do you just want a data plate to put on the otherwise good unit you have?
     
  13. Clip4

    Clip4 En-Route

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3,454
    Location:
    A Rubber Room
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cli4ord
    Sounds like some one swapped a stolen unit for the one originally in the aircraft, swapped an inop unit with the original in the aircraft + swapped a serial tag or a stolen unit was originally installed in the aircraft. In any event, it is most unlikely someone has a 430 just lying around to give you.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
  14. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky
    Most of the time, and in this case a nice 430, the unit was most likely stolen from one aircraft and installed in another. Some dirt bag probably bought it on the “Black Market” or did not care if it had a serial number or not. In my case, I did not have a chance to look at the unit before the parted plane was shipped to me. Without the serial number it is useless. I can never send to Garmin. They will keep it. So I have been told! BWTHDIK
     
  15. alfadog

    alfadog En-Route

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,179
    Location:
    Miami
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    alfadog
    Call Steve Wentworth. He might have some ideas for you. My friend just bought a Cherokee from him and I flew it home today. Said Wentworth is a nice guy.

    http://www.wentworthaircraft.com/
     
  16. pigpenracing

    pigpenracing Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,998
    Location:
    Brenham Tx
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    pigpen
    Well just use it.... Why would you send it back to Garmin anyway if it works fine? I am sure if you install a inferior serial number on the unit Garmin has a way of telling. Or I guess you just want to put a serial number on it, sell it and let it be someone else's problem. Sounds about right.
     
  17. simtech

    simtech Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,342
    Location:
    mississippi
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Simtech
    Once powered on, is there not a screen that will give you the SN? If so get the SN and inquire about it to Garmin. If my old GX60 will give that info on the screen I'm sure the 430 can as well.
     
    pigpenracing likes this.
  18. pigpenracing

    pigpenracing Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,998
    Location:
    Brenham Tx
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    pigpen
    Yup...
    If that 430 works I'll take a chance and give $200 for it as is.
     
  19. simtech

    simtech Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,342
    Location:
    mississippi
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Simtech
    So maybe im not understanding what he is trying to do? Turn it on and get the SN, call garmin and inquire. If its not stolen tell them what you got and get it fixed...No? Maybe he has tried to power it on and it wont work, has that been indicated?
     
  20. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky
    I have powered on the unit and do not see a serial number on start-up. I was told by Garmin that there is no way to find the serial number in the software. Maybe you guys might know different.

    I am definitely not going to sell it. It still works perfectly and functions as it should. I would just like to get the WAAS upgrade on it...”somehow”!
     
  21. simtech

    simtech Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,342
    Location:
    mississippi
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Simtech
    Garmin can't look it up with the unit ID? No mention of the install in the logs?
     
  22. Jason608

    Jason608 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jason608
    So, does your 430 work? I may have an idea.
    Edit: If you wanted to do a trade plus cash, I may be able to help.
     
  23. ClipperSky

    ClipperSky Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Clippersky