Best techniques for spot landings?

Hocky

Ejection Handle Pulled
Display Name

Display name:
Hocky
I'm toying with the idea of going to Oshkosh this year. Either as a PPL or if i'm still a student then with a CFI. What is the best technique for a spot landing? Should I treat it like a short field?

I'm toying with the idea of going to Oshkosh this year. Either as a PPL or if i'm still a student then with a CFI. What is the best technique for a spot landing? Should I treat it like a short field?

Nope not like a short field.

Energy management, also you got manual flaps? ;)

If you can hit the numbers you will do just fine. It really is not about "landing on there dot" rather landing in the beginning, middle, or end of the runway. You will be able to see the dots from a long way away and set up your landing for the spot they call out. You may be asked to land at the beginning of the runway at first then switched to the end dot. Just power up a little and float the length of the runway and touch down. You can practice this at home.

Practice slow flight, and slow turns. Know your airplane, and don't do anything you haven't practiced in the last 30 days. Read the NOTAM, watch the videos, you will do fine.

Last edited:
This might be a helpful, if self-promoting, video. http://youtu.be/LFsCuBPnWTs

The video is me flying into Oshkosh in 2013 as a new PPL. That's my CFI with me, a very experienced pilot and owner of the plane. (It was totaled by a renter, with no injuries, several months later.) First time flying into Oshkosh for either of us, though I attended in 2012.

This video shows the last bit of our flight in (and more on the ground). At the last minute, they moved our landing point to the next one closer, maybe 400 yards sooner.

This was Saturday about Noon, about an hour before the mass flights started arriving.

Consider arriving early morning or early in the show week, and definitely not Sunday, to make things less demanding and less stressful.