Best iPad App(s)?

godfreypilot

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
godfreypilot
Hey there,

I finally stopped procrastinating and bought myself a shiny new iPad 3. I'm pretty impressed with it, but I wanted to get some feedback from others on which apps would be the most useful in the cockpit, especially if I'm going to pay for it!

I'm a private pilot with an instrument rating, so I'd like a complete set of electronic charts and approach plates for sure, as well as the abilities of an aviation GPS (such as flying a flight plan, using a direct-to feature, getting groundpeed and cross-track, etc).

From my research, it looks like Foreflight HD and Garmin Pilot both seem to have what I'm looking for. I'd love to hear any input from people who fly with these apps. The Garmin app costs $25 more per year, so if anyone can give me a reason why it's better than Foreflight I would love to hear it. Also, if anyone out there has an app other than these two that you enjoy, I'd really love to hear about it!

Thanks for all the input,

Ryan

I've used both garmin and foreflight.. and its a toss up. I might go with garmin after my fore flight subscription runs out.

I really like how Garmin organizes your approach plates into "binders" for your departure and destination.

Foreflight has the "stratus" ADS-B receiver with weather. As far as I know, you can't get sattelite weather with the garmin app.

Both offer free trials IIRC so sign up and use em

The big three are Foreflight, Garmin Pilot, and Hilton Wing X (Jepp also has their own app but I have yet to read anything super positive about it). I believe all three have 30 day free trials. They each do their own thing differently and have their own followings. It comes down to the interface and features you like best. I'd download all three and try them out.

Personally, I went with Garmin Pilot. It has what I need, I like the display features and user interface.

Also, get super stickman golf. Terribly addicting. :D