Best insurance rates for experimental

kwc98

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
kwc98
I see there is a thread about renter's insurance, but a lot of comments about insurance in general.

Looking for a plane that fits my mission, an RV-9A seems perfect. I called Avemco and the price was 3500-4500 ballpark, before they knew I was a low time pilot. After I said that, she said I would be the high-end of those figures. That pretty much nixes that RV-9 for me. Ballpark on DA-20? 1500, much more doable for me.

All that said, can anyone point me in the right direction on getting a decent quote on RV insurance? Or insurance opinions in general?

thanks!
Ken

I see there is a thread about renter's insurance, but a lot of comments about insurance in general.

Looking for a plane that fits my mission, an RV-9A seems perfect. I called Avemco and the price was 3500-4500 ballpark, before they knew I was a low time pilot. After I said that, she said I would be the high-end of those figures. That pretty much nixes that RV-9 for me. Ballpark on DA-20? 1500, much more doable for me.

All that said, can anyone point me in the right direction on getting a decent quote on RV insurance? Or insurance opinions in general?

thanks!
Ken

3500-4500 for a RV9A..... VERY hard to believe....

When I was talking to them, I didn't even mention the model, just experimental at first. I am glad to hear this is unbelievable, since that tells me I can do much better. I thought this was perhaps the dark experimental secret....super high insurance rates.

Avemco has always been way high for me. Usually double what other rates are for similar coverage.

EAA worked for me. Very low tailwheel time and a bad landing with aircraft damage two years ago. Homebuilt. $608.