Best airplane for seaplane rating?

Melissa2983298

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Melissa
Hi Everyone,

I am a private pilot with around 200 hours; all completed in the same aircraft, a Piper Archer. I don't have any tailwheel experience or stick time, but would like to get my seaplane rating. What would be the best airplane to get a seaplane rating in, given my experiences? Either a cub or a husky?

Thank you for the input

I'd think availability of aircraft to take lessons in will be your determining factor for what kind of airplane. Cub, Husky, 172, Aeronca Sedan.... If you want to learn good float technique? Go for less horsepower. And avoid high performance airplanes. Learning cowl flaps and constant speed props will detract from the float flying part. At least at first.

Like he said, less power.

Given the options you mentioned, I’d go cub, also probably cheaper.

That is unless one of those places by far reaching chance will rent the plane to you after, in that case go with that place.

Head for Jack Brown’s Seaplane Base in Winter Haven, FL and train in their Cub. They have been drowning, err, I mean training seaplane pilot’s for many many years.

Adventure Seaplanes in MN I think through October. They have a 172 on straight floats. Good plane.

I wouldn't concern myself as much with the airplane type as I would its availability. If you will have access to the plane after the checkride, that is probably the most important thing to consider. If not, just pick the one you are most interested in flying.

It's rare to find a seaplane for rent after you get your rating. Consequently, most places have trainer-types on floats, like a 172, Cub, or Citabria. There's a place in CT that has a Lake Amphib (based at KOXC?). I'd pick one that's most convenient.

Where are you located?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I heard the place in Florida is the only place in the entire country that will rent you the plane after the rating.