Bellanca Viking vs Grumman Tiger 1st airplane purchase

joshplee

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Josh = Flying
All,

I'm a 200+ hr private pilot, currently working on my instrument rating, I'm looking to purchase my 1st airplane next spring (I want to complete instrument rating 1st :)

Currently all of my experience has been in Cessna 150, 172, and the majority in a 1968 Cessna 182. I like the hauling capacity of the 182, and gentle handling of it, but I don't really care for the Truck Feel, not a deal breaker but....

I've read a lot of good post in regards to a Grumman Tiger, and I've recently been researching a Bellanca Viking, it looks like a lot of airplane for the money. So what I'm asking for is opinions on both of these airplanes.

My mission includes flying from Ohio to Florida a few times a year and from Ohio to Oshkosh for airventure, and weekend day trips within a 2-300 miles. Usual load is 3 people (about 500 lbs + some luggage), I also like to fly into a few smaller airports in (89D - Kelleys Island 2200')

I've got insurance quotes through AOPA and it looks like the Viking is around $2800 per year, Cherokee 6 300 $3000 per year and Tiger was at $1800)

Budget 50 - 75k... I've often looked at Cherokee Six 260 and 300's but they are at the upper end of the price range, but I do like the flexibility of the additional capacity.

Older Bo or Debonair can be had in that budget.

The insurance will be higher on the complex aircraft for your first year. After you have 100 hours in the plane, it will drop significantly.