Becoming a CFI

PilotRPI

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
PilotRPI
What does it take to become a flight instructor? What are the minimum hour requirements and certifications? I assume you have to have your instrument and commercial. What is the training like after that?

Money?

It was by far the cheapest cert I have in my wallet, well minus my ground instructor.

It was also the hardest one I have even went into (went in as a working 500hr CPL, and even now as a professional ATP), I studied the hardest for, and the only ride I went into, based on info from other folks who attempted it with that FSDO, that I was fully expecting to fail the first time despite my hard work, I passed it my first go, also ended up having the same ASI do the paperwork for my gold seal years later, which was also a really cool catchup session.

It's all self study, tutoring folks, hardly any flight hours, maybe doing spins, but by the time you get your CPL you should have done spins at some point in 250hrs, the check rides are free (FSDO initial), my initial CFI, paid for the written(s), maybe 4-5hrs in a arrow, including flying to the FSDO, which was overkill, rest was free, all my study stuff was found online, tutoring was free (for me and the student), went up with some folks and gave some already certed folks and gave some "advice" for free, spent some time in the sims with a few folks too, also free x2, lest amount of money and really no dual instruction for the most part.

Per your question CPL and IFR

The biggest factor is self study and knowing where to find answers, which brings your question, well into question, if you have to ask....

Last edited: