Barn concrete

pilot_dude

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
pilot_dude
We are in the process of having a small (36x25) horse barn built to supplement all of the other out buildings. One difference we would like for this barn is to have a cement floor which we will place rubber padding over in the stalls.

In addition to the horses, a couple tractors will be stored as well as square bales of hay. The hay will be on wooden pallets so no worries there.

I have zero concrete experience. What should I ask for in the quotes? Depth? Strength? Expansion joints? Rebar? Screen?
I plan on doing all the grading work and compacting the gravel/sand base.

Thank you in advance.

Just use 4" thick, 4,000 psi concrete with wire mesh or a single layer of #4 rebar @12" centers. Should be fine for the floor sections (not the foundation itself.)

Just use 4" thick, 4,000 psi concrete with wire mesh or a single layer of #4 rebar @12" centers. Should be fine for the floor sections (not the foundation itself.)
Thank you very much. Is there a benefit to using either mesh or rebar?

Thank you very much. Is there a benefit to using either mesh or rebar?

Keeps it from cracking. If you need, and don't currently have, a storm shelter, pouring a rebar room is an option. Having a plate steel door for it makes a good shelter and doubles as a feed room.

Keeps it from cracking. If you need, and don't currently have, a storm shelter, pouring a rebar room is an option. Having a plate steel door for it makes a good shelter and doubles as a feed room.
I understand the confusion of my question. Let me restate; which is more beneficial, rebar or mesh? Why?
We have a basement so no worries there.

I understand the confusion of my question. Let me restate; which is more beneficial, rebar or mesh? Why?