Bad Avgas

cowtowner

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Cowtowner
Is there a lab I can send some avgas to get tested?

I could write a whole history of this that has had my plane down for the last two months, with me telling two different mechanics that I think it's bad gas.....to finally getting a mechanic to drain the tanks and put fresh fuel in to find out, ah, problem solved.

As an Airport Manager, I would like to know more information. Between the Airport and the supplier, there are several quality control measures that should prevent a discrepancy. I’d be puzzled if you really did receive bad fuel and would be curious how it happened. Have you notified anyone about it?

I notified the airport, but you see, the airport is in Mexico. They weren't too concerned as I made it home.

I notified the airport, but you see, the airport is in Mexico. They weren't too concerned as I made it home.
Ah, well, who knows what their handling practices are there.

Blackstone does gas testing. But its a bit expensive as it takes a special HAZMAT mail kit to send. I've had better luck contacting a local fuel distributor for testing or a recommendation.

I could write a whole history of this that has had my plane down for the last two months, with me telling two different mechanics that I think it's bad gas.....to finally getting a mechanic to drain the tanks and put fresh fuel in to find out, ah, problem solved.
It sounds like you already know?
I have my doubts that it is “bad”
It cost a fortune to have any kind of fuel tested. If you find a place they won’t want to do it for a individual.
Best way to test it is to put it in your lawnmower. If it doesn’t run right then you will know and all you have to do is dump it out and replace with fresh fuel.
Pretty simple to drain your fuel tanks on your plane without getting your mechanic involved. I use a shaker siphon to drain my tanks. No tools needed or AP mechanic.
How old is the fuel ?

Last edited: