B/T first time plane purchase 206 / 210

88mack

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
88mack
Hi all!
I’m sure this is covered somewhere here but haven’t seen my issue specifically and don’t want my first purchase to be a dud.

I am a relatively new pilot and training my IFR now. I spend so much on planes I’m figuring a purchase is in order. My issue with most planes is I’m 6’6” and 285lbs. Most of my training in 172s and now and Archer III. I can make the Archer work by removing the slide stops and pushing all the way back. My wife and I plan to travel at different times and we want to take another couple at different times so needs to be a true 4 seater due to my size.

I was looking at PA32 but apparently due to the seat behind it it doesn’t go back even as far as the Archer so that won’t work. Bonanzas seem to have headroom issues due to the shape. Cirrus might work but it was tight and stick would hit my knees. So…the only other recommendations I’ve gotten are 206 and they seem pretty hard to find and expensive. 210 and I hear all kinds of love hate with them. I’ve found a couple of 210s and was wondering about cost of maintenance. P210 deals are out there but hear a lot of issues. Gear seems to be an issue on early models. Is it better in later? T210 a maintenance problem?

I do plan to finish my IFR in this plane with an instructor so I can get the time and endorsements obviously, but would love to hear any advice out there. Looking at $200k or less

Thanks for helping the new guy!
M

Walter Beech was big and tall.

Start with the Musketeer/Sundowner in the training class.

I really hate when people complain about "Bonanza" headroom as there were several different variants of Bonanza. The 36 series suck for headroom generally. Late 60s and onward 33 and 35 do better. Early 35s and 33s with bench seats up front can be downright miserable if you're over 5'8. They've ALL been re-upholstered over time by people of various heights or lack of same.