Aviation jobs?

shyampatel94

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Shyam Patel
Okay so some of you know that I really want to become a pilot. I don't know if I want to be an airline pilot yet but I want to get paid to fly! What ratings in order should I be aiming for? And what jobs on the way, like CFI, etc etc... I am currently a freshman in college and almost (hopefully) done with my PPL.

if you want to get paid for to fly you will definitely need your commercial license and most likely need an instrument rating. without the instrument rating you are prohibited from carrying passengers at night for hire and on flights more than 50 nm. so an instrument rating is pretty much a necessity. also a multi engine rating would most likely be needed as well.

In a nutshell and in order...

PP SEL
Instrument Rating SEL
Commercial SEL
MEL Add-on

Or, a more expensive but also more advantageous route...

PP MEL
Instrument Rating MEL
Commercial MEL
SEL Add-on

I say the 2nd route is more advantageous because most employers will want to see multi-engine time beyond the 10 or so hours it takes to get a multi add-on.

If you decide to go the blue collar route, as opposed to the shiny jet airline route, you may want to look at getting a tail dragger sign off and building some time in a tail dragger. This will open up a bunch of bush type jobs as well as Ag jobs.

Another thing to look at is getting an SES or MES (or both) rating. However, it's difficult to find float planes that you can rent to build up time the time you would need to be employable.

I would highly recommend working under part 137. It is a great career that pays well and is, in my opinion, much more stable than 121. Plus it is rather fun.