Avemco sharing information with outside entities?

Fearless Tower

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Fearless Tower
Anyone know if Avemco or other insurance agencies shares customer data with government entities?

I received a strange bill from the city of Chesapeake, VA today. It was a personal property tax bill on my Cessna 170.

Only problem is.....I do not live in Chesapeake (I'm a Norfolk resident) and the airplane in question is not kept in Chesapeake. In fact, it has never entered the state of Virginia since I have owned it.

Only thing I can think of is that I believe I listed the home airport as Hampton Rds Exec (PVG) on my Avemco insurance policy when I first moved here and was considering keeping the airplane there.

If Avemco didn't share the info, I can't imagine how Chesapeake thinks I owe them anything.

Anyone else have experience with this?

What address was listed on the aircraft registration/bill of sale when you bought it?

Local governments are known to get data dumps from FAA based on zip codes and then send out billings trolling for missing taxes.

We got some such letters at the club years ago, one included an aircraft that had been destroyed years ago and registered to an address that no longer existed.

Send a registered letter stating that the aircraft under your ownership has never been based or registered in their tax district.

There is at least one California county that if you fly in for a lengthy vacation you can expect to be billed for property tax for basing the aircraft in the county. It's up to the owner to prove otherwise.

It isn't the FAA. I bought the airplane 5 years ago in California when I lived there. When I moved, I changed the registration address to my home in Norfolk.

Avemco is the only place where I put anything about the airplane being based in Chesapeake.