AutoPilot Malfunction

PilotNas

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
PilotNas
Hi Pilots,

I have a quick story to tell. Something that happened to me and some of my friends. I was flying a Cessna 420B and my Autopilot did not work. One night I took off around 10:30pm at night, I was grounded because of bad weather and was happy to be up in the air and I am a VFR Pilot with a multiengine rating.

After we took off, I was on flight following I decided to turn on the Auto Pilot. I noticed it didn't work so I tried to disengage it.

But I couldn't, it would not turn Off. I was still climbing passing through 8,000 feet. Flight following asked me if I had chosen an altitude but I didn't respond. I was fighting the plane to stay straight. I informed flight following that I had know control of the aircraft and their voice changed over the radio.

I started to tell my passengers that I do not have control of the plane and they started to freak out.

I have no control, Flying at 11:00pm and we have bad weather and I'm still climbing.

To make a long story short (Too Late)

Since I had no control and I was worried and the Auto Pilot wouldn't turn off; I pulled the circuit breaker for the Auto Pilot.

I had control again. I decided not to continue to fly, so I found the nearest FBO at Memphis International Airport.

After I secured the Plane I went inside and the people working their, told me that my passengers where all white and they were told of the story.

So I guess what I learned is, Never to Test things during flight, in Bad weather at Night and not knowing the system very well.

>>InformationOnFlying<<

So I guess what I learned is, Never to Test things during flight, in Bad weather at Night and not knowing the system very well.
Your first lesson learned should have been to know where the A/P CB is without having to look for it. You did the right thing, but depending on how the A/P or elec trim failed, you may not have had time to go looking for it.