Assigned Holding Pattern

flyingtexas

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
flyingtexas
I'm reading some IFR ground school and just finished a section talking about holding patterns. The books says ATC can assign you a holding pattern at any fix and they spell out the characteristics of the pattern and you fly it until further clearance.

Has anyone ever had that happen to them and if so was it difficult to get set up with everything else going on trying to fly and communicate and figure out the pattern?

Also, having never used DME but seen the instrument, for most holding patterns do they use round numbers for DME fixes or are they arbitrary.

I realize these questions sound novice....but hey, I'm a novice.

Thanks

I/we had to hold once en-route, we were using the GPS as DME.

ATC didn't really care how long legs were, they just needed a few minutes to separate us.
Direct entry, (on the same airway) 2 turns, done.

Not a big deal, but my experience is very limited.

I was assigned a hold at a fix during a approach in actual and told to expect to hold for 20 minutes. Before I could find the fix they just decided to vector me in to final and let me land. This was pre-GPS for me.

I'm reading some IFR ground school and just finished a section talking about holding patterns. The books says ATC can assign you a holding pattern at any fix and they spell out the characteristics of the pattern and you fly it until further clearance.

Not exactly. TACAN-only aircraft cannot be held directly overhead the TACAN. Fixes composed of crossing radials must meet minimum divergence angles and distance to NAVAID restrictions.