Archer II - Short Field

asechrest

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
asechrest
Hi folks.

I’m considering a trip with the family to Everglades Airpark (X01). It would be, by quite a bit, the shortest runway I have operated on. I trained in a 172 at an airport where the shortest runway I operated from was 4,700ft. Recently I joined a club that operates an Archer II from a runway of 3,300ft. Everglades Airpark is 2,400ft. I am a low-time pilot with 100hrs.

Would like to just post the thought process I’m going through so folks can comment, especially those with Archer II experience.

The airport has a single asphalt runway 15/33, 2400 x 60 ft with takeoff and approach over the water. Runway 15 has obstructions -- 39 ft. trees, 1235 ft from runway, 26:1 slope to clear -- which looks to me to be a little tree island in the water. No obstructions for 33.

The weekend is forecast to have a high temp for the day of 85F, so let’s be conservative and use 90F = 32C. Forecast winds to be 5 knots or so and varying in direction during the day.

The plane is a 1977 Piper Archer II – PA-28-181. Gross weight is 2550 lbs and with full fuel, the girlfriend, two kids, and 50 lbs in the baggage department, I’ll be 2300 lbs or less. CG well within limits. I’d be using short field takeoffs and landings. The POH calls for:

SHORT FIELD, OBSTACLE CLEARANCE
Flaps 25 deg (second notch)
Accelerate to 41 – 49 KIAS depending on weight
Rotate
After breaking ground, accelerate to 45 – 54 KIAS depending on weight
Accelerate to best flaps up angle of climb speed – 64 KIAS, slowly retract flaps and climb past obstacle
Accelerate to best flaps up rate of climb speed – 75 KIAS