Approach procedure that crosses the U.S. border

Yeti Niner Five

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Yeti Niner Five
Apologies for not posting the plate. But please take a look at the RNAV 19 at KFSO (non-towered) in northern Vermont. The procedure actually takes you across the Canada/US border.

Are there issues with that? Would I need to do anything than other than be in contact with ATC? I'm assuming that if they clear me for this procedure that things are worked out between the agencies. But I've learned that assumptions are particularly dangerous when it comes to aviation (and my wife).

I'm a fairly new instrument pilot and this topic didn't come up in training. Thoughts? Where would I find the answer?

The Canadian atc and the American atc work together along the border, you can fly the approach without a problem.

Apologies for not posting the plate. But please take a look at the RNAV 19 at KFSO (non-towered) in northern Vermont. The procedure actually takes you across the Canada/US border.

Are there issues with that? Would I need to do anything than other than be in contact with ATC? I'm assuming that if they clear me for this procedure that things are worked out between the agencies.
I'd assume that as long as you're IFR, on a filed IFR plan, there should be no problem. I'm not sure whether that would work on a pop-up, but it probably would - I did a pop-up IFR once on the way back from Ohio, crossing over Lake Erie through Canadian airspace, just for that reason (conditions were VFR). The controller understood why I was doing it and seemed to think it was reasonable, and more importantly I never heard from CBP about it.