AOA and relative wind

LongRoadBob

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jacker
Every time I think I'm getting it, I think a little more and it seems like I'm not.

As a student, I imagine there are others like me that read the definition of AOA, and that the ONLY factor in stalls is AOA, and think "ok, but..." and get the feeling it is a symantics thing. I think I do understand that aircraft can stall at any speed, at any angle, but here I go again...confused.

I think the problem is in all the definitions I'm reading, they are very basic definitions. I have trouble figuring out in different situations what the relative wind is, where it is coming from.

In a recent thread here about wind sheer, someone linked to a really helpful site that talked about damping during the beginning of a roll. That the low wing in a roll is moving forward AND down, so it is increasing its AOA because relative wind is back and up, with the opposite happening on the high wing. But after that? If one keeps holding the ailerons to bank, where and what is relative wind doing then? From my theory, I believe the low wing is slowing down and has more drag than the higher, and this turn the plane. Though the ailerons are not two whole wing, the up aileron on the down wing means less AOA which I thought meant less drag, the down aileron on the upside wing should mean more lift and so drag as well??

During climb or descent, what is the relative wind (if it is an increase or decrease in thrust, but level attitude?) .

Maybe my questions can give a clue to experienced and knowledgable pilots here as to where I'm getting off track?

I see it stated that the relative wind is parallel to the flight path. Is this a constant?
Also just realized that the wing is slightly twisted by design and that AOA is sometimes considered to be at the base of the wing. Any and all help appreciated.

Last edited:
Every time I think I'm getting it, I think a little more and it seems like I'm not.