Anyone with JPI EDM 900 in SF Bay Area?

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by pilotmax, Dec 22, 2017.

  1. pilotmax

    pilotmax Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Max
    I'm cross-shopping the JPI and EI CGR-30P for my Super Decathlon and would like to see them in person. Found the CGR in a local plane. Anyone with the JPI? Location preference is San Jose (KSJC, KRHV) and then outwards from there.

    Oh - any opinions on these two units are very welcome.

    Happy Holidays,

    Thx,
    Max
     
  2. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    I don't have any operational experience for the two units you are questioning and live far far away from SF. What I can say is that I was in the market for a monitor earlier this year and was deciding between the two you mentioned. I went to OSH and visited both their booths and talked with them. Then I swung by insight and found that, in my opinion, their product offered more for the money. I ended up installing an Insight G4 and am equally impressed with the unit operationally and the companies customer service. That said, I don't think you can go wrong with any of them. I'm still in awe of the data the unit provides while flying and the ease of downloading to Savvy's free service for analyzing.

    Good luck in your research/purchase.
     
  3. pilotmax

    pilotmax Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Max
    Thanks Kevin. Were there particular features you liked in Insight G4 as compared to either the JPI EDM 900 or EI CGR-30P?

    One think I'm trying to do is move the MP and RPM gauges closer to each other. In my panel (unfortunately I can't post photos yet) they are on the opposite sides but I don't like them there. Hence thinking of a single instrument to display both MP and RPM. Then, I want a logging engine monitor to use with Savvy Analysis.
     
  4. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    The 900 size was a no-go for me. I was comparing the EDM 760 as I needed a 3 1/18" instrument. Some of the reasons I went with Insight are: it had more of what I wanted on the home page in a presentation I liked the best, I wanted to see all actual CHT's from the home page, it is easy to pop the SD card out to download the data, I like the lean find mode the best with Insight (you constantly see exactly how many degrees each cylinder is LOP/ROP and the FF of each cylinder when it peaked), and finally the price.
     
  5. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    JPI fuel flow sensor looks like something from West Marine, the EI one is actually machined from billet aluminum.

    The CGR is really nice in that you don't have to run every probe wire all the way to the instrument, making another huge obstacle to work around. Instead all the probes (30 wires in my upcoming job) go to a converter box and two wires carries the data to the instrument. Also, I think you can add on the CGR-30C later to that same converter box.

    As far as what gets displayed on the homepage you may wish to look into that. My dad was thinking about LH & RH fuel quantity system till we figured out that would be hogging up the home page when we want oil pressure and temp with manifold pressure and fuel flow. Not really a big deal and I think we will either add the 30C or Aerspace Logic fuel gsuge when we want fuel quantity.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2017
  6. PaulMillner

    PaulMillner Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Paul Millner
    I’ve got a 900 in my turbo Cardinal at OAK... But if you’re buying lunch, we can meet at WVI or? :)

    The comment on the EI remote box is funny... it’s a necessity cause they use so much stiffer wire, it’s a handful to route. Similarly, the FloScan flow transducer is an industry standard, and is used marine and aviation. EI rolls there own... and that’s better why?

    Paul
     
  7. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Actually, the remote data converter box is brilliant, especially on multi-engine aircraft. Run a power, and RS232 from the instruments in the cockpit to each EDS mounted near the firewalls, the engine probe leads terminate at each EDS. This would be a real time, space and likely a weight saver.

    Id have to ask but I think as long as you had basic system installed, if you wanted to add new functions (probes) all you would have to do is pin the leads to the appropriate EDS connectors and send the instrument to EI for reprogramming. You shouldn't have to gain access to the entire wiring runs from the engines to the instruments.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2017
  8. pilotmax

    pilotmax Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Max
    @PaulMillner - thanks for the offer, would like to take you up on it. I can come up to KOAK or meet at WVI (Ella’s?), etc.

    One thing that’s not clear is how many primary instruments the EDM-900 will replace. Their sales literature seem to imply more than photos and user manual. For example, volts and amps are shown in the advisory (non-primary) area - does that mean I have to leave my old amp&volts gauge in the panel?
     
  9. Dave Arata

    Dave Arata Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave
    We decided to go with a separate analog to digital converter (EDC) to facilitate the installation and give the installer more options, not because of the solid core TC wire. As mentioned earlier, remote mounting the EDC offers the installer more options, not having to bring the entire engine harness to the back of the instrument. Twin guys love it! :)
    In regard to flow transducers, "industry standard" is subjective as many OEMs such as Vans, Garmin, Dynon and Grand Rapids Technologies all use our transducers.
     
    bnt83 likes this.
  10. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Can you give me any insight on what it takes to add a CGR-30C to an existing CGR-30P? It looke like I'd need to send back the CGR-30P and the EDS for programming in addition to pinning additional TC wires to the EDS connectors already in the airplane.

    Or would I need an additional EDS just for the 30C?
     
  11. Dave Arata

    Dave Arata Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave
    Better than that, you can use the open channels of the existing EDC and we'll send you the harnesses with the d-sub pins already crimped to the wires and associated wiring diagrams. We will just need your tail number so we can take a look at your 30P config to determine how the existing EDC is configured. Easy peasy. No need to return the 30P.
     
  12. PaulMillner

    PaulMillner Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Paul Millner
    There’s a couple of issues... are the volt amp widgets required or optional in the equipment list? I haven’t reviewed the Cert basis of the 900 since we out it in 5 years ago, so that would require study, and familiarity with any updates...

    Paul