Anyone here ever paint your own airplane?

flyguy_17

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
flyguy_17
I'm sure some of you have. Probably even some pro's on here.
My co-owner and I have tossed around the idea of stripping and repainting our 172 this upcoming winter. The paint (what's left of it) on our 66 G model is pretty rough. Just don't want to get in over our heads. I do know its a LOT of work. I have been involved with small paint repairs when I used to work at my FBO and help out the A&P in the shop. But I have limited painting experience, especially a job that big. I understand its the prep work that is the majority of the work and the better prep, the better final outcome. But at this point we cant afford to pay someone 10-20k for paint.

Then there's the question of what color/colors and scheme....
Oh, and speaking of, anyone ever done a wrap on a small single? Just as expensive as repainting? And what about the added weight/legality side of that?

The things that run through my head while on night shift :)

I'm sure some of you have. Probably even some pro's on here.
My co-owner and I have tossed around the idea of stripping and repainting our 172 this upcoming winter. The paint (what's left of it) on our 66 G model is pretty rough. Just don't want to get in over our heads. I do know its a LOT of work. I have been involved with small paint repairs when I used to work at my FBO and help out the A&P in the shop. But I have limited painting experience, especially a job that big. I understand its the prep work that is the majority of the work and the better prep, the better final outcome. But at this point we cant afford to pay someone 10-20k for paint.

Then there's the question of what color/colors and scheme....
Oh, and speaking of, anyone ever done a wrap on a small single? Just as expensive as repainting? And what about the added weight/legality side of that?

The things that run through my head while on night shift :)