Anybody been to Katama 1B2?

neilw2

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Neil W
Anyone been to 1B2 on Martha's Vineyard with any PIREPS? I have no experience landing in at a grass strip, but I really want to see this airport...from what I understand you can taxi to parking right across the street from a beach!

Couple of questions:

Is it worth the trip?

What is the conditions of the runways? It looks like there are 3 runways, all pretty long for a grass strip

How easy is it to spot from the air? Some of these grass strips I have a hard time seeing from the air?

Im a 250 hr PPL and like I said no experience getting into and out of grass strips. I figure this isnt too hard to do- just follow soft field and short field technique in my POH. However, do you recommend me doing this with a CFI first or is it something that really isn't that hard and not much different than a landing at a paved Rwy.

I'll be flying in my 182 if that makes a difference.

Thanks for the help!

Yep, but it's been 8 or 9 years since I was there.

So I can't say what the conditions are NOW, but back then they were good.

If you can't see it from the air, you should turn in your medical, because your eyesight is horrible. But yeah, some are hard to find, Katama is not.

I will say this GRASS DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY EQUAL SOFT FIELD.

Only use soft field technique if it's actually soft field.

No need for a CFI for grass, but if you feel you want it do it. But you'll most likely feel it was a waste of money after it's over.

I've flown into Katama many times and it's a great spot. There is a lovely restaurant on the field with a nice deck and a guy gives bi-plane rides there also.