Another wannabe pilot walks into the room...

Christian Rogers

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Christian Rogers
Good afternoon guys.

I am hoping to start flight training early next year. In the mean time I am studying ground school topics and just trying to learn what I can while setting aside cash to let me finish my PPL all at once. The current plan is to start flying once I have about half of the money needed set aside.

So for ground school: Is it necessary to purchase one of the many courses available, or could I learn the material adequately by studying the FAA books (Pilots Handbook, Airplane Handbook, AIM) plus the operator's manuals that go along with the plane I will be using?

Also, is is feasible to complete ground school and the written exam prior to beginning actual flight training?

Any insight would be appreciated.

Chris Rogers
Birmingham, AL

M2C - being a student that is almost finished. I did the written test first, studying over the winter and taking the test in early spring. That gave me 100% of my time in the good flying weather to spend in the plane. I actually found it helpful to be as prepped as possible with the knowledge from taking the written test. Yes, you do need to take a certified course to prep for the written test, like Gleim (which is what I used), Kings (another very popular one), or a few others (Sporty's, etc.). The OTHER reason you do that is that you need a certificate of "ready to take the test" to be able to take the test. The on line classes will give you a "final prep test", and if you pass that you will be given a certificate to print out and bring to the testing facility.

You could go another route, and that is paying the CFI to coach you, but that will be more $, you can't study on your own, etc. Honestly, the on line courses are fairly good and with all of the You Tube videos available for free (Cindy's is great) you're covered.