Another newbie here in Texas

bimmerd00d

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
bimmerd00d
I really have no idea why it all of the sudden hit me a few weeks ago, but I decided it's time to learn to fly. I was bored while home sick from work a few weeks ago and decided to install FSX that I got as a gift a few years ago (yeah i know, bad habits and whatnot). I got married a few months ago and she seems quite into the idea of me getting my license. I'm browsing through the forums looking for more info, so i'm not really going to ask any questions. I live in Little Elm, which makes Denton the nearest airport. I spend quite a bit of time down south near Blanco, TX where my family lives as well. I'll be looking for a flight instructor in the near future, most likely at Denton. I think I am going to look for a greybeard over an academy from some of the chatter here. I have yet to be up in anything smaller than a commercial jet, so I'm going to book a discovery flight sometime soon. If anyone would like to take me (and possibly my wife) up for a ride that would be awesome :)

Brandon-

Welcome to Pilots of America, Aviation's Front Porch! (chuckle)

Spike here - I fly out of Addison.

We have some active participants who fly out of Denton ( a great field, by the way) - watch for Mike Farlow (has some sort of Aggie stuff in his username / avatar), good guy, who I know bases at Denton, and I bet can help you get hooked-up with the best of the best for the field.

Welcome Brandon!

I am about 100 miles NorthEast of the Metroplex, but my Grand Dad ranched on the Blanco river not too far from Stonewall when I was a kid in the fifties and sixties. I consider that part of the hill country to be my second home.

I would expect that you could find a good grey beard at Denton. I've had two instructors and both of them fit the category. Except for the fact that my current one is hard to schedule time with, he's an EXCELLENT instructor.