Annual location

James Hines

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
James
I'm new to the whole airplane ownership club and so I have a simple question:

Generally speaking where do mechanics prefer to do annuals? In your hanger or theirs? I assume they prefer it being at their hanger due to tools and parts, etc?

TIA!

I'm new to the whole airplane ownership club and so I have a simple question:

Generally speaking where do mechanics prefer to do annuals? In your hanger or theirs? I assume they prefer it being at their hanger due to tools and parts, etc?

TIA!
Depends on the mechanic. I know some that don't have a hangar. Mine always has too many planes in his and he lives just down the street so he prefers to use mine. I think a side "benefit" for them to do it in yours is if something big crops up, you aren't clogging his space. If you want it done faster, put it in his hangar.

My mechanics comes to me and I supply most tools and he brings specialty tools. I also do an owner assisted annual so its nice when its in my hangar.

I think most of us take it to a guy with a shop. If you are truly mechanically inclined and develop a relationship with a local IA, some will allow owner assisted annuals. Ask 20 pilots on your field who does theirs and a couple of names will appear in common.

In my case an A&P comes to my hangar for maintenance work & repairs, and go to a local IA for annual inspections.

I do my own maintenance (it's an experimental), the A&P who does my annual comes to me. He has a whole traveling workshop in his minivan.

Generally speaking where do mechanics prefer to do annuals?
If you want to participate in the work as an owner-assisted annual best location is your hangar. That's also provided you have a local IA who travels.