Android apps

ATC_av8er

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
ATC_av8er
I downloaded two Android apps: Garmin Pilot and DroidEFB. I plan on playing around with them both and deciding which I like better. I'm new to the nav apps thing. The biggest question I need to know is will either app allow the GPS feature to work without a WiFi connection? Thanks for your input.

I liked Garmin pilot, ended up with WingX and like it a lot (I went against everything I believe in and got an ipad to give foreflight a chance). No experience with droid EFB. There are some good free ones like Avare too worth checking out. Despite being a guy that prefers android, I'm not an expert here. Having GPS feature should have nothing to do with a WiFi connection. If the device is GPS capable, it will work no matter if you have a wifi/data connection or not. If the maps are downloaded, it will work, even in airplane mode. With an ipad, you have to have one that is cellular capable to have the GPS function, i think Android devices vary by manufacturer.

I’m not sure this answers your question since you don’t say which tablet you are using.

It’s not the app, it’s the tablet.

If the Android tablet has a GPS chip, the app will use it. An active WiFi connection to the internet is not required for the internal (or an external) GPS to be functional in the tablets I’m familiar with.

Happy hunting. Exploring apps and deciding which is best for you can be fun.

Give fltplan go a shot too. It's similar to the other efb apps, but I'm able to plan and store flights well in advance and get printable nav logs, airport info, weather etc for any of them on demand. It's nice then refreshing the app and having everything I did on their website present for whatever flights I have coming up. I'm not sure what other apps can do that, but it's really nice to have instead of doing it one at a time. It also had w/b profiles built into the app which is great as well and motivates you to do it every flight.