Altimeter and class Alpha

Trip8s

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Ohvationdriver
Ok, I am a low time pilot of approx 700hrs, and fly a Mooney Ovation. I rarely flyover 12 - 14k feet so I never thought much about setting the altimeter at 18k. As of late I have been fortunate enough to get a ride in the right seat of a CJ III so here is the 18k alt setting business. So now I get back in the Ovation and was wondering......if the altitude the GTX330 is displaying the same, as the Altimeter would read if I were to climb to 18k and change from local pressure to standard??

Your transponder ALWAYS transmits pressure altitude. That never changes.

As you approach the Transition Altitude (18,000' in the US) during climb, change your altimeter setting to 29.92.

As you approach the Transition Level (FL180 in the US) during descent, change your altimeter setting to the local altimeter setting (QNH).

If you are not in the US, remember to check for the correct Transition Altitude and Transition Level. In the Caribbean, for example, it is frequently well below 10,000'. Also, don't confuse the Transition Altitude/Level with Class A airspace. Though they happen to be at the same altitude/level in the US, they are unrelated.

Last edited:
Just to expand on what Larry said a bit.

Yes, your transponder always transmits Pressure Altitude. (And FWIW, that info comes from the encoder part of the system) What happens is those center sectors that are below the transition level (18,000 Feet) automatically convert that pressure altitude to the appropriate MSL altitude. That is why they will occasionally give you an altimeter setting.

]
As you approach the Transition Level (FL180 in the US) during descent, change your altimeter setting to the local altimeter setting (QNH).
Actually, it's 18,000' MSL in either case. The lowest flight level usable varies with the barometric pressure.