Alternate selection

spinfire

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Dan
So, I'm just getting into the meat of my instrument training. We've discussed the alternate requirements. I won't be with my instructor until Saturday but I was at work looking out at KBED today (my work has a nice view of the airport!) in the soup and wondering if there are any good flight planning tools to select a legal alternate. Basically most of New England was IFR or LIFR and selection of an alternate would not be obvious. If forced to do it manually my approach would be to pull up skyvector and look at major airports like Manchester, Portland, Albany, etc, and look for the nearest which is forecast to be above alternate minimums at my estimated time of arrival. But it would be awesome to have a flight planning tool that could tell me the airports nearest my intended destination that meet the alternate requirements. I did a quick google search but found nothing useful. Does such a tool exist?

So, I'm just getting into the meat of my instrument training. We've discussed the alternate requirements. I won't be with my instructor until Saturday but I was at work looking out at KBED today (my work has a nice view of the airport!) in the soup and wondering if there are any good flight planning tools to select a legal alternate. Basically most of New England was IFR or LIFR and selection of an alternate would not be obvious. If forced to do it manually my approach would be to pull up skyvector and look at major airports like Manchester, Portland, Albany, etc, and look for the nearest which is forecast to be above alternate minimums at my estimated time of arrival. But it would be awesome to have a flight planning tool that could tell me the airports nearest my intended destination that meet the alternate requirements. I did a quick google search but found nothing useful. Does such a tool exist?
Sounds like an idea to suggest for a future enhancement to Foreflight! :yes: