Alaska Float Flying

CC268

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
CC268
***Please understand that this was my first time flying in AK and my first time flying in terrain like this - I am not an expert - this is my perspective of the flying - this was probably weak sauce for anyone who flies in AK - don't rip me to shreds over it - thanks.***

Last week I was in Alaska, visiting my wife's parents who live in Sterling (Kenai Peninsula). It was my first time in AK. I knew I'd be disappointed if I didn't fly in Alaska and I really wanted to do some float flying (which I've never done before).

I decided to book an "Intro to Float Flying" flight at Scenic Mountain Air (also known as Alaska Float Ratings) in Moose Pass, AK. Their "bread and butter" is their ASES course that is 3-5 days long. They have these cool little cabins right there on property that you can stay in. I talked with the owner, Vern, for quite a while as I was waiting to go up with an instructor. He was telling me about all the interesting folks they get there - fighter pilots, corporate CEOs, poor engineers like me, even an astronaut! He told me how even the best of pilots come in with a humble attitude towards a new type of flying. Thought that was cool. I talked with a fella who was a Sheriff in Boston - he was there getting his ASES rating.

My instructor, Darlene, was an awesome pilot and a great instructor! She has flown up there for 12 years. Anyways, we started out by practicing some "step taxis". Our route was Upper Trail Lake, over Grant Lake, up to Wolverine Glacier (I think that is right) and then over to Paradise Valley where we landed on both Upper Paradise Lake and Lower Paradise Lake. She even let me land a few times! I did pretty good. We took off from Lower Trail Lake over to Ptarmigan Lake where she had me do some landing exercises. After Ptarmigan we headed back to Upper Trail Lake - the water was glass so she made the landing there.