Airplane recommendation needed

NinerUniform

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
NinerUniform
First post but long time "lurker":D

I'm a new sport pilot looking to purchase my first airplane. I trained in a 7AC Champ. A few things I'm looking for:

-Has to be LSA eligible
-I will fly it off a 1400' grass strip
-prefer side by side seating
-prefer a stick to yoke but not a deal breaker
-not concerned with speed - mostly patch and 100$ burger flying
-$20,000 - $25,000 budget
-open to certified, EAB

I'd love to hear your thoughts on which aircraft I should be considering, just starting my search - help point me in the right direction
9U

Check the sales sites in that price range.

If speed truly doesn't matter, try Quicksilver MXL-II or GT500

First post but long time "lurker":D

I'm a new sport pilot looking to purchase my first airplane. I trained in a 7AC Champ. A few things I'm looking for:

-Has to be LSA eligible
-I will fly it off a 1400' grass strip
-prefer side by side seating
-prefer a stick to yoke but not a deal breaker
-not concerned with speed - mostly patch and 100$ burger flying
-$20,000 - $25,000 budget
-open to certified, EAB

I'd love to hear your thoughts on which aircraft I should be considering, just starting my search - help point me in the right direction
9U
you need a 7bcm champ. Tandem seating with an 85 hp engine. The 65 hp with two people is stretching it on a hot day. The other two will work if they have been upgraded to an 85 or above. Or you can save your money for a rans courier.

Last edited:
A Aeronca 11AC Chief would be the logical choice.

A Luscombe would also do the trick.

I've seen some older 2-stroke Kitfoxes with impressive performance. Should be in the price range and side-by-side.

I think a lot depends on if it is an open 1400 ft strip, or if you have obstacles at the end.

Thanks for all the input so far. Keep it coming!