Aircraft Losing LSA eligibility

QuiQuog

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Hobo Djoe
14 CFR 1.1 LSA definition states "Light-sport aircraft means an aircraft, other than a helicopter or powered-lift that, since its original certification, has continued to meet the following" then goes on to state the LSA specs.

The AOPA has interpreted this to mean that if a light sport plane ever exceeds the limitations of the LSA category, such as exceeding 1320lbs, even once, the airplane is forever not eligible to fly under the sport pilot rule. Is that the correct interpretation? What would be the logic of that?

My thought would be that if a plane was LSA, then was modified to exceed the limitations of the LSA category, it wouldn't be eligible to fly under the sport pilot rule. But because somebody overloaded it once doesn't seem to warrant changing its category.

So let's say I'm a sport pilot and own an LSA. I take my buddy up for a ride once around the pattern and land. I fall victim to a ramp check and in the course of conversation it's determined that my buddy and I and a full tank exceed the gross weight by 100 lbs. Is it conceivable that my plane is now and forever unflyable as an LSA? What would the purpose of that be?

What are your opinions on this?

I'm under the impression that the limitation is max gross weight, which doesn't change just because you exceeded it.

14 CFR 1.1 LSA definition states "Light-sport aircraft means an aircraft, other than a helicopter or powered-lift that, since its original certification, has continued to meet the following" then goes on to state the LSA specs.

The AOPA has interpreted this to mean that if a light sport plane ever exceeds the limitations of the LSA category, such as exceeding 1320lbs, even once, the airplane is forever not eligible to fly under the sport pilot rule. Is that the correct interpretation? What would be the logic of that?