Advice/Help

FlyDogsFly

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
FlyDogsFly
Hi sorry for any mistakes and grammatical errors in advance not the best writer but was looking for help

I'm a student pilot soon to be private but recently I had to go to court for a MIP of alcohol and for some background info on what happened was me and a friend were heading to my house to just have a nice night we haven't seen each other in a while and got pulled over for expired tags and they saw I had 2 cases of beer in the back (very stupid I know) unopened and they didn't make me do a field or breathalyzer they just confiscated the cases and gave me a ticket to show up to court. Now I've shown up had the case dismissed while having to do some community service and was not arrested do I need to report this to the FAA or on my next medical? Not trying to hide anything as I know that only makes it worse with the FAA and future Job opportunities so I just wanna make sure I have to report it if I do.

Any advice would help please and thank you/will be checking for responses every day but sorry if I don't get back to anyone right away.

You were not operating a vehicle while under the influence of any substance? There was no action taken against your driver's license? You were not required to attend an educational or rehabilitation program?

Last edited:
What were the charges that resulted in your court appearance? Reading between the lines it sounds as if it might have been minor in possession of alcohol, not operation of a motor vehicle. There's a big difference.

That's not necessarily true. Nor is MIP an offense related to the operation of a motor vehicle while intoxicated.

I’m well aware MIP is not reportable. I sometimes find it easiest to point someone to a source.

If there was community service involved, you did not have the charges dismissed. The reporting requirements are at the link below.