Actually affording aa PPL

rpayne88

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
rpayne88
This is my first post, so sorry if this has already been "posted" to death.

Long story short, I am a college student working a minimum wage part time job for 17 hours/ week. My parents are fully supporting me and my flying lessons.

Any ideas on how I can offset what they are paying and both get my PPL and become self sufficient at the same time.

This is my first post, so sorry if this has already been "posted" to death.

Long story short, I am a college student working a minimum wage part time job for 17 hours/ week. My parents are fully supporting me and my flying lessons.

Any ideas on how I can offset what they are paying and both get my PPL and become self sufficient at the same time.

Working only 17 hours a week at minimum wage will be hard. Perhaps starting a grass cutting business on the side, etc will help push additional income your way. Spring and summer are also great times to wash vehicles and airplanes.

Try to get a job at the FBO for minimum wage to offset any earnings at the place you are currently working and perhaps discounts on your flying.

Washing airplanes,or detailing planes could provide supplemental income. Or find a job with more hours.

Line guys usually make about $10 an hour. Depending on where you're at the hours can still be flexible, and you'll get a discount on fuel.

I agree that if you are working for minimum wage anyway you might as well try to get a job at an FBO.

At least there's the possibility it could pay off in some discounted time.

+1 for getting a job at the airport. Make connections, find people that have planes, surround yourself with aviation, and have fun!

+1 for getting a job at the airport. Make connections, find people that have planes, surround yourself with aviation, and have fun!

+2 I know people who've stumbled into a lot of free flying just by being around a lot of people with airplanes.