acceptable use of a safety wire: in place of a hose clamp?

bavreze

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
bavareze
hi guys!

I'm having a little problem with a plane mechanic. he replaced this airbox and, for some reason, the airbox that he sourced has a shorter pipe and therefore he was unable to secure the alternate air intake hose with a clamp, so instead he caught it with 2 zip ties. After some controversy, he removed the zip ties and he wrapped some safety wire around it and around the metal air duct part and made it hold together, kinda loose though.

I told him the air box was bad and we needed a new one but he tried to convince me that he knew what he was doing and this was an acceptable use of a safety wire, and even showed me in the FAA book (the FAA book shows no hose fitting use, but another circular part with a clip). And also he found some pictures online, see the one with the hose around a pipe.

Now, I am no experienced mechanic but I pulled the air hose and it came off pretty easily and I kinda see a situation where that hose becomes loose in a flight and touches my exhaust manifold and then I have a fire or some foreign object gets ingested in the intake manifold.

He told me I am a picky customer and I know nothing about older planes, and that he has 3 or 4 A&P ready to confirm that his setup was standard. I do not want to be that trouble maker customer but I've read so many crash reports where a dubious repair caused a big mess, so I am posting this here to hear from other people.

When responding please also mention your qualification (i.e. back alley mechanic who has seen a lot, a&p, IA etc) so I can understand better where I am.

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_9537.JPG
    IMG_9537.JPG
    168.6 KB · Views: 178
  • IMG_9538.JPG
    IMG_9538.JPG
    182.2 KB · Views: 165
  • IMG_9539.PNG
    IMG_9539.PNG
    121.9 KB · Views: 169