A Very Odd Question, I'm Guessing

Tom.F

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Tom.F
Hi all,

I'm a writer working on a piece of fiction, and I'd like to propose this question to you and see if you have solutions to a logic problem. The story takes place in the future where an incident has eliminated most of mankind (not nukes). One of the survivors is a pilot who's been calling on radio for years without contacting anyone. He has access to any possible radio equipment, and after years of no success, is willing to think outside the box. Again, he can get virtually anything that's available.

My problem is distance. I'd like him to be able to have one, fleeting conversation with someone who answers like either another pilot, or control tower. Just enough conversation so he knows where they are. The distance would be approx 400 miles. I think this rules out LOS, even though I could have the ground transmitter on a mountain.

Any ideas of what a desperate man might do to try to contact another human being in his plane. There would be no competing signals of any kind. Unlimited budget, but it has to fit into a single engine, 4 seat civilian aircraft.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

If I provide a solution to solve this problem, will I get credit for it in your book? :)

1. Would short wave do the trick? The people on the other end will be just as desperate to hear from him, and will have equal resources and plenty of trial and error time.
2. Credit? How about a hearty handshake?
3. Pigeons would be awesome, but I'm really hoping for that human voice. Now a parrot...!

Radio Interferometric Angle of Arrival - I bet you people thought I was making fun of Angle of Attack Indicators!! :D

Yeah, my google got angle of attack. Trying the longer description

Check with your local shortwave club. Those guys have all kinds of gadgets, tricks, handhelds, and antennae for chatting all over the world. They install their gear in cars, they could do it in an airplane, too.