A question about ag flying

Nicholas

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Aghopeful
Hello everyone. My name is Nick. I'm a farmer in Southwest Georgia. Given the events which have taken place over the last few days, the hurricane hit crops badly making a tough situation even worse, I'm considering an employment change. I enjoy farming and agriculture in general. I'm a student pilot with about 18 hours. I'm thinking about pivoting from farming to being an ag pilot. I know the training is rigorous but what kind of shot does someone have at getting a job in this industry? Any opinions or advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Do you know an ag pilot that you can sit down with and ask all these questions.??

And welcome.!!!

Unless you are doing it just on your own farm, you will need a commercial pilot certificate. So that will be your first order of business after getting your private. After you get your commercial certificate, there are some schools that teach ag flying. Besides the flying part, you need to learn about the different chemicals used. Google ag pilot schools and you should find a list of schools. I believe there is at least one in GA and there is also one in FL if I recall correctly. Good luck.

Suggest going to Americus GA. Lot's of Ag pilots based there and one of the big ag aircraft dealers is there. Suspect they can give you really good answers to your questions