A&P School Frustration

ajstoner21

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Andrew
So, As some may know, I am in a night A&P School.

I have a class called "Aviation Science" which is more or less a math class.

I am an aerospace engineer during the day. Spending WEEKS learning fractions, decimals, percentages and ratios makes me want to scream. We learned this stuff back in like 5th or 6th grade. :mad2:

It frustrates me that I don't have the option to test out of certain classes when going the school route.

I really hope these classes get more entertaining for me...

If you are in TCC's A&P program, my daughters are there (not in that program) and have tested out:

http://www.tccd.edu/Student_Services/Testing/Credit_by_Exam.html

EDIT: I see that your program isn't included in the list of subjects you can test out of. That sucks. They should give you the option of taking the instructor's final exam from last year's class--you pass, you get credit.

Yeah - it is my understanding that because it is an FAA Part 147 School, I have to do what they say. I was told I couldn't test out because of the FAA. Perhaps I should go straight to the FSDO DME and ask them...

I understand the purpose of having x number of contact hours.... It wouldn't hurt to have you spend those hours doing other things instead of remedial math.

But I'm guessing that they are running off an approved syllabus, and you live and die by the numbers according to that syllabus. Just like a 135 or 121 outfit has it's own set of FAR's they live by in the form of their ops spec.

I am an aerospace engineer during the day. Spending WEEKS learning fractions, decimals, percentages and ratios makes me want to scream. We learned this stuff back in like 5th or 6th grade. :mad2:

It frustrates me that I don't have the option to test out of certain classes when going the school route.