3rd class and ssdi

I

itsjustme

Not sure what to do, I think i need a consultation with my ME off the record but I've been a pilot 36 years and currently own a plane. I have or had a physical demanding job, and have had 3 cervical fusions, corp tunnel , and all have been reported. I had a back issue over the summer that finally took me out of my job and had to file disability and retire. I cannot do that job anymore.I haven't been able to fly much lately as i always would be resting up for the next week of work. I have a current 3 rd class with a special issuance for OSA that getting ready to expire. I can physically fly the airplane, just cannot crawl under or over it anymore without aggravating the back and being layed up a couple days. I know they had issues years ago with ssdi and medicals. Will a ssdi for a back issue take you out of the pilots seat? I'm perfectly fine with self grounding when conditions flair up and not trying to hide anything, its just a shame i worked for what i got but tore myself up enough to not be able to enjoy it.

Why not go BasicMed.

But Social Security Disability, while reportable, is generally not disqualifying. The key is what the underlying diagnoses are and what, if any, medications are being used.

Think pains and sprains vs mental meltdown.

I guess the issue is what do they consider neurological even on basic med. I have 3 bulging disks and I evidently have arthritis in my lower back and it flares up and gets in the nerves. If i overdue it I have pain when the lumbar gets flared up and shoots down my legs. I was dealing with a neurosurgeon and he pretty much jacked me around for 5 months. I have since started with another, he sent me and I passed a nerve conduction test in the legs.

I guess the issue is what do they consider neurological even on basic med.

No mystery. They tell you.

https://www.faa.gov/licenses_certificates/airmen_certification/basic_med