337 or STC for non-primary and/or non-required instruments?

Hank

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
hankster2
I'm a relatively green pilot (~150hrs) and new plane owner and my plane is just getting buttoned up from an Avionics install that's been in the works for a bit. Now I'm wishing I had had an engine management system installed (at least CHT's/EGT's) but I'm not going to throw that wrench into the works because I need the plane back. Also - my partner is an A&P.

Question 1: If we were to install a standard 4-cyl digital CHT/EGT gauge does that require more than a logbook entry if it's not replacing any required equipment (plane doesn't have a factory CHT gauge)? Does this come down to the A&P determining whether it's a major/minor alteration or am I way off on that assumption?

Question 2 (only applicable if the answer to question 1 is "yes"): If a full-suite engine management system were installed (one that's certified as a primary) is the STC paperwork or 337 technically required if the existing primary gauges are not removed? As in... could the paperwork be deferred until I want to pull the existing gauges and make the gauge the primary? Now that I think about it, it seems this wouldn't work unless there was a way to say that the secondary instrument can't be used as there would be no way to differentiate which was the primary?

Not trying to skirt the rules. Just trying to determine if I can have the gauge (a.k.a. enhanced situational information) in the meantime since it would be many many months before I could schedule to have one installed by a shop. Also if I went with route 2, I would "eventually" want to remove the existing primary gauges, but would want to wait to do that till I do my "phase 2" avionics install which will include cutting a new panel (I really hate the look of holes and disconnected/inop'ed gauges).

There's no such thing as a dumb question right?