2024 PPL written test

VoiceOfReason

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
VoiceOfReason
has anyone recently taken the private pilot written ?

I’m interested in knowing how much weather vs weight-balance vs VOR stuff etc

bonus points if you were a Sportys student and can opine about the test prep questions versus the ‘real test’

Asa prepware questions were very similar. You’ll get a selection of questions from a pool so who knows what exactly you’ll get.

It's random from the entire pool. They don't select any particular number of questions from each topic. You could have 0 weight and balance questions or you could have 5.

edit: Seems this information is out of date.

Last edited:
It's random from the entire pool. They don't select any particular number of questions from each topic. You could have 0 weight and balance questions or you could have 5.
100% this.

You have to study everything with equal weight.

I studied by taking practice test after practice test over and over again until I got familiar with the questions of the entire test.

Percentage of questions by topic is published in the PAR ACS. It's still the luck of the draw what questions you'll actually see. The FAA stopped publishing the questions/answers in 2008 so no one has a complete and current list. They are changing questions and answers agreesively these days, so don't try to memorize your way through the exam. Learn the material and it won't matter how questions are worded.

1710790713116.png

^^ interestingly, Navigation is absent from the list. Certainly it will be focal somehow on the test

I took the test about three weeks ago and was annoyed there were no W/B or Density Altitude questions that required charts on my exam. I bought a dry-erase kit and drilled with those pretty tedious charts for takeoff/landing as well as the weight and balance zone charts and wasn't tested on it.

I passed by a wide margin anyway but I was perturbed at the mix of questions I was dealt.