182 Hot start

coloradobluesky

En-Route
Gone West
Display Name

Display name:
coloradobluesky
Its a normally aspirated 2006 182 with fuel injection. Guy at the airport couldnt start it. Sounded flooded to me. I talked to him and he said he was following the hot start procedure in the manual. What is that? Anyone know? A lot of engines have idiosychrasies. Anyone know best alternate hot start procedure for this airplane? I talked to him but didnt really know what to tell him to do. He seemed to be trying the right things.

On my Lycoming 540 aj-1a (99 t206h) throttle quarter/half inch in, mix off, boost pump off. Crank starter then after 2 seconds go full mix and boost pump on. Keep cranking and it always starts within 4-5 seconds. If u shut off the boost too quick she'll start to stumble after about 10 seconds of idling. Just flip it back on before it dies.
I'm a newbie w only about 250 hrs in it but after trying many different techniques, this is what works for me and my bird.
Except that day last July at PGA when I had forgotten to turn the fuel switch back on after refueling. Really impressed the lineman w my skills

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Aiiight

Method one for hot start.

Mixture in, pumps on, advance throttle till fuel flow stabilizes.

Fuel pumps off

Mixture rich

Throttle all the way out

Crank as you slowly advance the throttle

Method two, if one fails.

Mixture in, pumps on, advance throttle till fuel flow stabilizes

Fuel pumps off

Mixture ICO

Full throttle

Crank till it starts, once it starts, mixture rich and throttle to idle.

This has worked for me on IO550s, IO520s and IO360s.

oh geeze, there are as many opinions on hot starting fuel injected airplanes as there are fuel injected airplanes.

Does pulling the mixture all the way out stop all fuel flow? Or do you need the pump off too?

If you eliminate fuel with the mixture (and pump off?), then full thottle gives full air, which you want if its flooded.