1500 hour mark

izzydogg

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
izzydogg
I realize the 1500 hr mark as a requirement for most flying jobs is driven by the insurance companies. When I was a student pilot, back in 2006, I recall 300-500 hour pilots obtaining jobs with regional airline companies. I've also read or heard that the 1500 hr requirement has made it more difficult to fill positions. I talked to a pipeline pilot who said that they also had the 1500 hour mark and that most of the "time building" jobs had gone to the way side due to the requirement. What are the chances of these time building pilot positions becoming available to us 300-500 hour pilots in the future.

Other than instructing, it is difficult. Even if you choose instructing you may need a real job to be able to afford food.

Sorry, we are boned unless we get our CFIs. You can get a VFR pt 135 job if you can find one at 500 hours and a few other reqs.

It will swing the other way, when the airlines say there aren't enough pilots.

All depends on what you want to do with your life. I got a job that paid room and board as well as a decent wage, and was flying really nice helicopters for a while before I moved into transport category turboprops. AND I started with zero time. :D

become a CFI...you will need these skills anyway when a fresh off IOE First Officer is sitting to your right...CFI ratings can pay you back in spades

It will swing the other way, when the airlines say there aren't enough pilots.

I really need to read these posts more accurately. I thought Ed had said "I will swing the other way"

Had me worried there for a minute Ed

become a CFI...you will need these skills anyway when a fresh off IOE First Officer is sitting to your right...CFI ratings can pay you back in spades
A guy I once talked to who worked in a regional airline's training department told me he could always tell who was a CFI and who wasn't based on how they did in training and how they worked in a crew environment.