XP & WIN7 networking oddity?

OffCenter

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
OffCenter
I have a home wireless network. Four computers run XP Pro. The latest, a netbook, runs Win 7. I have file sharing enabled so I can access anything on any computer from any other computer.....sort of.
The Win 7 netbook can access the files on any of the XP computers just fine. But when I try to access the files on the Win 7 unit from the XP units, I get a "access denied" message. What th....???
Anyone got an idea? I'm fresh out. And it doesn't help that I'm not very good at this. :confused:

I have a home wireless network. Four computers run XP Pro. The latest, a netbook, runs Win 7. I have file sharing enabled so I can access anything on any computer from any other computer.....sort of.
The Win 7 netbook can access the files on any of the XP computers just fine. But when I try to access the files on the Win 7 unit from the XP units, I get a "access denied" message. What th....???
Anyone got an idea? I'm fresh out. And it doesn't help that I'm not very good at this. :confused:
It's a security issue. I've waded through this before on my own network but am not experienced enough to guide you through a fix other than to say you could do some research on the subject via the Internet. The Win7 OS seems to have taken the security defaults to a much higher level but I'm certain you can configure the Win 7 computer to allow file sharing with older OS's.

It's a security issue. I've waded through this before on my own network but am not experienced enough to guide you through a fix other than to say you could do some research on the subject via the Internet. The Win7 OS seems to have taken the security defaults to a much higher level but I'm certain you can configure the Win 7 computer to allow file sharing with older OS's.

Thanks. I'll look over the security section of the control panel and see what I can find.