X-Plane 11

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by JonH, Nov 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. JonH

    JonH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    San Diego
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JonH
    I tried X-Plane 11 tonight :) Home airport, current conditions. I have a cheesy gamepad but I was blown away by the graphics. This is the first home sim I feel inclined to use for training or fun. thiS just got real.

     
  2. rtk11

    rtk11 Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Southern California
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    rtk
    I use Plane 11 to practice flights when I can't get to the airport, and to practice flying to areas i've not been to before. It's pretty darned good, but of course, no match for actually flying. But it's (in my opinion) one of the best simulations out there right now. I downloaded terrain from Open Maps (I think) and that really added more realism to my simulation. I also love that it pairs with Foreflight, so I get simulated practice with Foreflight as well.
     
    JonH likes this.
  3. Ryanb

    Ryanb En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    SE Tennessee
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan
    What kind of computer do you have running it Jon?
     
  4. midwestpa24

    midwestpa24 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    midwestpa24
    I use the new X-Plane 11 and am impressed with it. It runs well even on a moderate computer unlike Microsoft, looks twice as good (FSX is 10+ years old), and is capable of immersive systems simulation. I use the Zibo mod 737 a lot.
     
    JonH likes this.
  5. JonH

    JonH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    San Diego
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JonH
    i7-7700K and GTX 1080. I skipped almost a year of flying so I figured why not. The CPU is hitting +70c so I guess I need some better cooling.
     
  6. Ryanb

    Ryanb En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    SE Tennessee
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan
    Nice! I assume it’s a custom built PC?
     
  7. Pilawt

    Pilawt Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,354
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilawt
    I tried the X-Plane 11 demo, but my mid-2011 iMac didn't have enough horsepower to run it smoothly. I'll have to stick with X-P 10 -- which is not terrible -- until I can afford a new computer.
     
  8. rtk11

    rtk11 Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Southern California
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    rtk
    I had to move away from the iMac to a PC in order to run XPlane 11 well. I went online and bought a used PC with an i5 and GTX750 and it runs fairly well. I wish I had Jon's GTX1050 graphics card... that may be the next upgrade. Though I may need to buy another PC altogether as my son is enjoying the graphics capabilities with his car games and I can hardly get any time with that PC...
     
  9. JonH

    JonH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    San Diego
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JonH
    Yes, Fry's Electronics had the 7700K for $280 and the GTX 1080 for $499 after a rebate. I couldn't pass it up. That's all I needed, everything else was from my previous system. I sold my old CPU and video card for almost half what I paid for the new stuff :)
     
  10. Jim Rosenow

    Jim Rosenow Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Smithville, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Rosenow
    Caution...the sim thing can be habit-forming. Been doing it for years, and there's always 'something' that will make the experience better :) We currently use XP11 on 3 screens, with a Carenado T210 and RXP GTN650 add-ons to practice approaches, etc. By limiting the MP/RPMs on the 210 we can nicely approximate the performance of the RW 182RG we fly. After the initial investment in the hardware/software, it's nice to 'fly' for 14 cents an hour instead of 14 GPH.

    Jim
     
    wayneda40 likes this.
  11. Pilawt

    Pilawt Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,354
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilawt
    I gave up IFR flying about ten years ago. Once in a while I'll shoot an approach in X-Plane just to see what I'm missing. o_O

    I do find value in it for VFR flight planning, especially if there are potential terrain issues. It's nice to see what a planned route and altitude will actually look like, and when I get there for real it's already "familiar". Also it's an opportunity to "fly" to places I know I'll never get to for real.

    I like the Carenado add-on aircraft. Their 172N is very similar to my own airplane; and the C-152, V35B Bonanza, Saratoga SP and Mooney 201 bring back memories of my times in those types.
     
    wayneda40 likes this.
  12. wiregoat

    wiregoat Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    SW MO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    wiregoat
    I upgraded from XP10 to XP11 to be able to use 3 screens but my PC only runs one screen with any kind of performance. Using an AMD A10 with an RX470 graphics card. Are the any tricks to run 3 screens?

    Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
     
  13. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    13,856
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    I see that the RXP GTN 650 and 750 add-ons are on sale for 30% off today.
     
  14. CC268

    CC268 En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,853
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CC268
    mcdewey and JonH like this.
  15. CJ Rader

    CJ Rader Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    AR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    TIE-Fighter
    I've got X-Plane on my iMac along with the CH Eclipse flight yoke and the CH Rudder Pedals. As others have said, it's not the same as the real thing, but it's awesome for procedures training.
     
    wayneda40 likes this.
  16. Jim Rosenow

    Jim Rosenow Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Smithville, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Rosenow
    Yup...mostly throw hardware at it.... running a i6770K over-clocked to 4.5, 32 gig of RAM, gtx1080 video card, dual ssd's for OS and XP11. Using a 4K TV on the front and 1920x1080 TV's on the sides. I splurged and got the Redbird TPM, yoke, and rudders. My OS of choice is Linux (runs XP faster) but the GTN 6/750 add-ons require the (free)Garmin Trainer app be installed, which is strictly Windows. Great fun when the wind and snow blow.

    As an editorial aside, many people fault the flight sims for lack of force-feedback on the controls. My response is that I fly the sim the same way I fly the airplane. Trim for every config change, and 2 fingers on the yoke is all you need...no force required for either. :)

    Jim

    Edit- Understand I'm not saying you need this much performance to run XP11. Any fairly modern computer will run it. My rig will run with most of the graphics sliders mostly toward the top end, and I'm pushing a LOT of pixels to the 3 screens.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2017
  17. wayneda40

    wayneda40 Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    waynemcc
    For IFR proficiency... the combo X-Plane/PilotEdge/ForeFlight is awesome, particularly with aircraft (e.g. the recent stock C172-G1000 in the most recent X-Plane 11.10 Beta) that have good autopilot/procedure implementations.
     
  18. Skyrys62

    Skyrys62 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Owensboro, KY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Skyrys62
    I'm running an i5 processor, 16Gb ram, with a GTX1070.
    A SSD drive also helps with load times a little if that's a concern.
    It's adequate, but it's on the threshold of being not enough.
    the Windows 10 creators update did nothing for my frame rates.
    I don't keep everything maxed out, but not bare bones either. Probably about 3/4 on the settings for lack of a better measure.
    It is enjoyable, especially with VATSIM and even more so on youtube:

     
  19. PilotRPI

    PilotRPI Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    MA - 1B9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    PilotRPI
    For those that use more than one monitor, what do you put on the side ones? Side views, instruments, other?
     
  20. Skyrys62

    Skyrys62 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Owensboro, KY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Skyrys62
    I use 3 monitors at 1080p (probably why my frame rate is not higher)
    I have side views, and you can set those with 'offsets' to make them semi-seamless.
    It really helps with immersiveness, to me.
    Also had it on a 65" 4k TV that was pretty rockin. Less wide but taller visuals. Sit close and you can get dizzy at times.
    VR is next level though.
    You can add another monitor for instruments...but have to network it I think?
    Also can use iPad or other for instruments I have read, but have not experimented. Lot's of youtube vids.
     
  21. Jim Rosenow

    Jim Rosenow Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Smithville, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Rosenow
    Mine are each set up as 90 degree views....and the left and right are off-set 90 degrees in opposite directions from the main monitor, providing views out the side windows. XP11 also has what they call an iOS (instructor operating station) interface that you can use one monitor for. That will let an 'instructor' control the parameters (wx, a/c location, failures, etc) while a 'pilot' flies the a/c using the other monitors.

    Jim
     
  22. OkieAviator

    OkieAviator Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,444
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    OkieAviator
    I use a TrackIR setup and the xcamera add on. Lets me look around the cockpit and then switch to different panel views where I have TrackIR disabled... makes mouse clicking stuff easier.

    I have a lot of fun with Sims but they get boring to me after awhile. I used Pilots Edge for a few months when I was getting my Instrument ticket. Haven't used it since but it did help.

    I run X-Plane 11 on an old I7 with a gtx970. I'll go back to Prepar3D next release.. I prefer the more options for pay ware and ground handling... flying taildraggers in XP11 is nonsense.
     
  23. bflynn

    bflynn En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,311
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian Flynn
    I'm jealous. I really want to run XP-11 just to get the G1000 practice inexpensively and practice ifr. But I don't have the machine to do it.
     
  24. Jim Rosenow

    Jim Rosenow Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Smithville, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Rosenow
    Different sims for different purposes here. Running P3D (v4 is my birthday present) on a separate SSD for the ends of our spectrum...C550 modded to match the electronics in my wife's work airplane, and Citabria/Decaf with a joystick. My experience is that XP11 has the actual flight dynamics down better, but P3D has many more large airplanes and airport 'environment' stuff. Both worth the relatively-insignificant (in airplane $$) entry fee.

    Have you tried it? :) I used to run XP10 on a dual-core Pentium with 4 gig of RAM. Had the sliders to the left (less realistic scenery) but able to practice procedures. XP10 is still available, and less resource-hoggy.

    Jim
     
  25. labbadabba

    labbadabba Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    labbadabba
    Still need a Flight Sim sub-forum....

    I'm still running FSX, the only thing holding me back from upgrading is the thought of having to reconfigure all my hardware.
     
    Skyrys62, Jim Rosenow and JonH like this.
  26. bluesideup

    bluesideup Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bluesideup
    Hi everyone.
    I find XPlane in a need of of huge improvement, for GA light aircraft, in flight dynamics (xwind on the ground, and in flight behavior), and physical views / positioning necessary in training, in order to be used as a training tool. I've been trying to get the developers to improve the basics for many years to no avail.
    If some one can post an image similar to what I posted using a high wing / C172 showing the eyepoint with the 3 necessary, and also have at least 50mi distance I would appreciate it. This pic is in FSX, Slew mode, just south of KSNA and you can see Catalina island. Thanks.
    C152LRtxtS.jpg
     
  27. labbadabba

    labbadabba Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    labbadabba
    I don't know about XPlane but I know in FSX you can go into the config file for the aircraft and adjust the eyepoint. For me though, the only time I'm looking outside is when I'm taking off and landing. 95% of the time my sim is set to display just my panel (see my profile pic) since I use the SIM for IFR practice.
     
  28. JonH

    JonH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    San Diego
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JonH
    If my eyepoint is high enough to see the cowling and I pan I cannot see wingtips. I can just barely see the pitot tube in the x-plane 11 C-172.
     
  29. Pilawt

    Pilawt Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,354
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilawt
    Just like a real 172! You have to crane your neck up to see over the panel and cowl, and duck down a bit to see under the top edge of the side window frame. The problem here is that X-Plane is too accurate.

    ;)

    I solve the problem by setting "3-D cockpit cmd-look" as my default forward view. That way the the up and down arrows on the keyboard quickly and easily adjust the vertical POV.

    Here's XP10 with the Carenado C-172N, over KSNA, looking toward Catalina. In this forward view, a sliver of the orange cowl is seen over the top of the glareshield:

    [​IMG]

    Left and right views at same POV:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now with the POV lowered. Top of the cowl is no longer visible, but there's still plenty of view out the windshield, and wingtips are visible:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    If you want cowl and wingtips at the same time, get the Carenado Archer II. Or if you want cowl and wingtips at the same time in the real world, get a real Archer II. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2017
    labbadabba likes this.
  30. Pilawt

    Pilawt Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,354
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilawt
    That looks more like a C-152 than a 172.

    In the Carenado C-152 in XP10 you can see cowl and wingtips from the same POV ...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  31. Sundancer

    Sundancer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,798
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sundog
    I made the change from FSX to Xplane11, and I see it as a very big improvement; I'm primarily using it as an instrument refresher/training platform. I have a cheap CH Products yoke and pedals, and it wasn't much effort to get those configured with Xplane. The approach plates are up-to-date, and match my FF plates, and the user interface is much more straight-forward than FSX. I haven't paired it with my iPad/FF yet, which it apparently will support - not sure if FSX had that or not; the GPS in Xplane is basically a Garmin 530, which is what I fly with for real, so that's a step up, as well.

    I think a lot of these things are/were available third party with FSX, but I didn't want to make a career out of tracking them down, doing the research, trouble-shooting, etc. Xplane11 had what I needed right out of the box.

    But, as a game or a "toy", I'm not sure there is a big difference; if I were just playing around "VFR", I'd use a stick, vice the yoke, on either application.
     
  32. bluesideup

    bluesideup Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bluesideup
    Hi.
    Yes, that is a 150 but there are many FREE Cessnas, including the default SP that can be adjusted to get the position. The Carenado is a commercial / payware and as you can see that in one is very difficult to find the proper position, or close to it.
    It's important to be able to see those points, they can / are being used as reference visual points for VFR training in a Cessna high wing.
    Also notice the there is No Catalina in sight, and it's only about 30mi away. Too many things to mention about the short comings of XPlane.
    This is Not intended to bash it, just to point out some glaring issues that were / are not resolved since it's inception.
    I do hope they make a decent high wing trainer but given their past history it's not very likely.
     
  33. BrianNC

    BrianNC Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    785
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BrianATL
    Does X Plane have pre-set up IFR scenarios like FSX did? They had several pre-set IFR flights from one airport to another in weather with ATC, etc.

    Is there any benefit to running just 2 monitors (since I only have 2 to hookup to my MacBook Pro) or better to have just one monitor if all you have is 2?
     
  34. Morgan3820

    Morgan3820 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Reno
    I previously had tried P3D but gave up as I spent more time fixing/configuring than flying. I am not a techie so I gave up in frustration. I was pretty upset as I had spent a fair amount for the hardware. A year later I found Xplane and it seems to be more robust, less needy of tech support. I still wish I could just pay some one to come in and set it all up. "Here you go sir, all set up, call me if you have any problems."

    Why do techies think that everyone else is a techie? I do not assume that other none chemists know chemisty

    I saw where AOPA is sponsoring/selling a 'how to' flight sim class for $99!
    Has anyone given this a try?
     
  35. Jim Rosenow

    Jim Rosenow Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Smithville, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Rosenow
    BrianNC likes this.
  36. Morgan3820

    Morgan3820 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Reno
    Thanks, I have given it a look and you are correct. Good thing to get started on with winter coming.
     
  37. Ben

    Ben Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BEN
    I need to get a proper rig setup for flight simming! I just need to complete my PPL first.. I play a lot of video games, and I love flying- so I am sure I will be obsessed.
     
  38. Jim Rosenow

    Jim Rosenow Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Smithville, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Rosenow
    Here's a pic of my set-up with the default 172SP loaded in XP11. You can move the perspective up, down, and around to suit yourself. In our 182 I have to duck down to look out a wing-tip, so it comes kind of natural for me in the sim.

    Jim

    1127171214.jpg
     
    JonH likes this.
  39. JonH

    JonH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    San Diego
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JonH
    Sweet.

    I just ordered rudder pedals :)

    I'll probably add a component here and there until I have something somewhat realistic. Hopefully all of this helps with my IR, I start that in 2 months :)
     
  40. Jim Rosenow

    Jim Rosenow Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Smithville, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Rosenow
    That's what I've done. Started out years ago with a re-purposed computer, 15" monitor, and a joystick. Like I mentioned..it's habit-forming. Almost (but not quite) makes me look forward to Winter. ;) I think you'll get a lot of good from it on your IR...invite your CFI over for a beer and show him how you got such a good instrument scan! :)

    Jim
     
    JonH likes this.