X-Country around Boston?

benb172

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Benb172
I am a student pilot and am working on doing some x-country. Since my wallet it becoming thinner, I was wondering what the most interesting place to fly to would be near Boston. My instructor left it up to me. Anyone flown to KPVC?

The restaurant on Marths'a Vineyard, KMVY, does a good breakfast.

Jaffrey NH. Wait for Kimball Farm to open up. I'd be interested in a pirep here - as in if your instructor or school lets to you dispatch there.

PDX - Portland Maine - great scenery and you never have to leave the FBO.

EWB - GREAT restaurant on the field.

Block Island - more than 50nm - qualifies as a real Cross.

Danbury CT - also 50nm - a couple of ok choke and puke chains in walking distance

Jaffrey NH. Wait for Kimball Farm to open up. I'd be interested in a pirep here - as in if your instructor or school lets to you dispatch there.

PDX - Portland Maine - great scenery and you never have to leave the FBO.

EWB - GREAT restaurant on the field.

Block Island - more than 50nm - qualifies as a real Cross.

Danbury CT - also 50nm - a couple of ok choke and puke chains in walking distance

PDX is Portland, Oregon. PMW is Portland, Maine. That's a long cross country!

Laconia
Sanford ME
Pittsfield

KPVC is out on the point of Provincetown and you have to overfly water to get there unless you follow the Cape all the way around. Not sure I recommend overflying water if you are solo. Besides the beautiful view, there's not much else. No restaurant or anything. If you want to go to the Cape, I recommend Chatham KCQX. Really good breakfast at Hangar B Restaurant. They're closed until April 1st but a good destination after that. Some nice views from there. Have fun.

Where around Boston are you starting?

Hampton, NH.
Nice grass field, too far from the beach to walk. But right in town area of Hampton.
Walk to meals. Nice coastal flying to get there.