Would you fly with unknown noise on startup

Code90

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Code90
Mostly this is a question about what most others would do. I'm still a low time pilot and seem to learn something new daily with the plane.

Recently loaded the plane for a trip with a friend. All ready to go... Started without any problem, but then had a new whining noise. "Hmm. Never heard that before." Sounded like was just on other side of the firewall. Everything else read perfectly normal with gauges. It would whine as I increased RPM. Would stop if brought back to idle. Co-owner outside plane could not hear it and said engine sounded normal.

Our field has no mechanic. We fly 15 min flight to the mechanic at a large airport. The question is, would you fly the plane without knowing what the noise was? How do you decide?

Mostly this is a question about what most others would do. I'm still a low time pilot and seem to learn something new daily with the plane.

Recently loaded the plane for a trip with a friend. All ready to go... Started without any problem, but then had a new whining noise. "Hmm. Never heard that before." Sounded like was just on other side of the firewall. Everything else read perfectly normal with gauges. It would whine as I increased RPM. Would stop if brought back to idle. Co-owner outside plane could not hear it and said engine sounded normal.

Our field has no mechanic. We fly 15 min flight to the mechanic at a large airport. The question is, would you fly the plane without knowing what the noise was? How do you decide?
Did you hear this in your head set? or?

I get the impression it is avionics,

NOPE....

I would find the origin of the noise before that plane left the ground.... IMHO..

Whining noise under the cowl? No. That's not right. Not many things under there to do that. Most of them would be metal on metal. No thanks.